German Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel won the Indian Grand Prix on Sunday at the Buddh International Circuit, taking his fourth Formula One drivers' title.

The 26-year-old Vettel took control about one-third of the way into the race and finished ahead of countryman Nico Rosberg, of the Mercedes team, and French Lotus driver Romain Grosjean, who claimed second and third place, respectively.

Spanish Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso ended up in 11th place and lost any chance he had of vying for the 2013 title.

Vettel only needed a fifth-place finish or better to win his fourth consecutive Formula One drivers' title.

The German won the first two editions of the Indian Grand Prix in 2011 and 2012.

Vettel won his 10th race of the season and sixth in a row at the Buddh International Circuit.

The German driver is the third man to win four consecutive individual titles, joining an inclusive club whose other members are Argentine Juan Manuel Fangio and Germany's Michael Schumacher.

The Indian Grand Prix, which will not be held next year but could return to the calendar in 2015, is the 16th of 19 races in this year's F1 season. EFE