German Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel has snagged pole position for the Indian Grand Prix, which will be held Sunday at the Buddh International Circuit, while Spanish Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso will start eighth.

Vettel, who has already all but locked up his fourth consecutive Formula One drivers' title and can clinch the championship with a fifth-place finish or better, earned his 43rd career F1 pole with a time of 1:24.119 in Saturday's qualifying.

The German won the first two editions of the Indian Grand Prix in 2011 and 2012. On Sunday, he will attempt to win his 10th race of the season and sixth in a row.

He will be joined on the front row by countryman Nico Rosberg, who drives for Mercedes.

Starting right behind them will be British Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton and Australian Red Bull driver Mark Webber, who finished third and fourth, respectively, in qualifying.

Alonso, who is a distant second in the drivers' standings with 207 points, 90 behind Vettel, could only manage a time of 1:25.826 and will start on the fourth row alongside German Sauber driver Nico Hülkenberg.

The Spaniard was even beaten out in Saturday's qualifying by his Brazilian teammate, Felipe Massa, who will start fifth alongside Finnish Lotus driver Kimi Raikkonen.

The Indian Grand Prix, which will not be held next year but could return to the calendar in 2015, is the 16th of 19 races in this year's F1 season. EFE