Bayern Munich won its fifth European club crown here Saturday with a 2-1 victory over Borussia Dortmund in an-all German Champions League final.

Dutch international Arjen Robben, criticized by many after Bayern lost the 2012 Champions final to Chelsea on penalty kicks, scored the winning goal for Munich in the 89th minute.

Mario Mandzukic put Bayern ahead at the one-hour mark on a pass from Robben, but underdog Dortmund knotted the score in the 68th minute as Ilkay Gündogan converted after Marco Reus drew a penalty by Dante.

Talent-laden Bayern came into the match at London's iconic Wembley Stadium determined to avoid being labeled a loser after its defeats in the 2010 and 2012 Champions League finals.

The Munich side last won the Champions League in 2001.

Borussia Dortmund, the Cinderella squad of the 2012-2013 Champions League campaign, played an aggressive, confident game from the outset.

It took Bayern a while to jell on offense, yet both goalkeepers had been tested by the end of the first half.

Dortmund continued to dominate for the first 15 minutes after the intermission until Robben and Franck Rybery got behind the defenders to set up's Mandzukic boot into the empty net.

Seemingly in control, Bayern allowed Dortmund to spend too much time in the Munich end and the pressure led to Dante's foul against Reus and Gündogan's equalizer.

Bayern went into high gear again and a lazy clearing attempt by the Dortmund midfield left Robben alone on the edge of the area to seal the win for Munich.

Jupp Heynckes, 68, became the fourth manager to win Champions League titles with two different clubs.

He got his first in 1998 as coach of Real Madrid. EFE