Nigeria, which triumphed 1-0 over Burkina Faso in the final of the African Cup of Nations, joins Spain, Uruguay and Tahiti in Group B for June's Confederations Cup tourney in Brazil.

The winners of the 2008 and 2012 European Championships and the 2010 World Cup will begin the competition with a June 16 clash against Uruguay, followed by matches with Tahiti on June 20 and Nigeria on June 23.

The Spain-Nigeria contest is set for Castelao stadium in the northeastern city of Fortaleza.

Group A comprises the national teams of Brazil, Italy, Mexico and Japan. The Italian side, which finished second in the 2012 Euro Cup, was invited to fill the European slot because Spain had already qualified as reigning World Cup champions. EFE