Real Madrid manager Jose Mourinho has been named International Federation of Football History & Statistics club coach of the year for the fourth time.

The Portuguese manager won the award after leading Real Madrid to the Spanish league and Supercopa titles in 2012, beating out Roberto di Matteo - who coached Chelsea to last year's UEFA Champions League crown - by two points in the voting.

Mourinho, who also received the IFFHS award in 2004, 2005 and 2010, garnered top honors for 2012 despite coming up short again in his bid to bring another Champions League title to Madrid.

He won two titles in Europe's top annual soccer competition as manager of Porto and Inter Milan, but has lost twice in the semifinal stage since taking the helm at Real Madrid, including a defeat last year to eventual runner-up Bayern Munich. EFE