Argentina will continue to split its football season into two parts but will start crowning a single champion in a playoff between the winners of each half.

Under the present format, there is a winner of the first and second half, but no playoff.

Like many Latin American countries, Argentina splits its season into two halves - called the Apertura (Opening) and Clausura (Closing).

Under changes announced by the Argentine Football Association, the two seasons will now be called the ''Inicial'' and ''Final.''