Germany coach Joachim Loew on Monday named uncapped teenager Julian Draxler in his preliminary squad for the European Championships this summer.

The 18-year-old Draxler is the only surprise in Loew's 27-man squad. The Schalke midfielder was named because of his ''huge potential,'' the coach said.

Borussia Moenchengladbach's 20-year-old goalkeeper Marc-Andre ter Stegen was the other uncapped player selected, while Borussia Dortmund midfielder Ilkay Guendogan was recalled after making only one appearance during qualifying.

Loew also named Arsenal defender Per Mertesacker and Lazio striker Miroslav Klose. Both players are recovering from injury and will have to prove their fitness before making Germany's final squad that will play in Poland and Ukraine next month.

The final 23-man squad will be named May 29.

The 27 players on the preliminary team area heading to a weeklong training camp in Sardinia on Friday. A second training camp is scheduled to begin May 19 in southern France.

Borussia Dortmund and Bayern Munich's players will join the training after the German Cup final on May 12. Bayern players will join the Euro 2012 preparations only after their Champions League final against Chelsea a week after that.

Hamburg defender Dennis Aogo, Bayer Leverkusen midfielder Simon Rolfes and Wolfsburg defender Christian Traesch failed to make the cut.

Germany won all ten Euro 2012 qualifying games. Germany last won the European Championship title in 1996 when the tournament was staged in England.



Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Tim Wiese (Werder Bremen), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Ron-Robert Zieler (Hannover)

Defenders: Holger Badstuber (Bayern Munich), Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Benedikt Hoewedes (Schalke), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich), Per Mertesacker (Arsenal), Marcel Schmelzer (Borussia Dortmund).

Midfielders: Lars Bender (Bayer Leverkusen), Sven Bender (Borussia Dortmund), Julian Draxler (Schalke), Mario Goetze (Borussia Dortmund), Ilkay Guendogan (Borussia Dortmund), Sami Khedira (Real Madrid), Toni Kroos (Bayern Munich), Thomas Mueller (Bayern Munich), Mesut Oezil (Real Madrid), Lukas Podolski, Marco Reus (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Andre Schuerrle (Bayer Leverkusen), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich).

Forwards: Cacau (Stuttgart), Mario Gomez (Bayern Munich), Miroslav Klose (Lazio).