The German Football Federation says former general secretary Wolfgang Niersbach has been elected president.

Niersbach was the only candidate as Theo Zwanziger's successor and was voted in unanimously by 260 delegates at the DFB's special assembly Friday.

Niersbach, a former football journalist, becomes the DFB's 11th president. His joined the federation in 1988, one year after taking charge of the media for the organization committee of the 1988 European Championship, held in Germany.

Zwanziger announced in December his intention to quit. He originally planned to step down one year before his term ended in October 2013, but came under pressure to complete the handover before Euro 2012 in Poland and Ukraine.