Sunderland striker Fraizer Campbell is a shock call-up in Stuart Pearce's England squad to face Holland at Wembley next Wednesday.

It is a remarkable turnaround in fortunes for Campbell, who has suffered so many injuries during his time on Wearside.

The former Manchester United man now joins Wayne Rooney, Darren Bent, Danny Welbeck and Daniel Sturridge as the strikers in a youthful 25-man squad that also includes Manchester City full-back Micah Richards.

The continued exclusion of Richards throughout his four-year tenure was one of the more remarkable aspects of Fabio Cappello's reign.

Pearce has wasted no time in bringing the City man back into the fold, although with Kyle Walker and Glen Johnson also included it is not known exactly how he fits into the plans.

Neither Rio Ferdinand nor Frank Lampard have been selected, although the presence of Steven Gerrard suggests the Liverpool man will gain the captain's armband, sensationally stripped from John Terry earlier this month.

The ramifications of that led to Capello leaving and the likelihood remains Harry Redknapp with eventually replace him

However, Pearce has been given free rein to select the players he wants.

In addition to Campbell, the only other uncapped member of his squad is Manchester United's Tom Cleverly, although he was selected for the squad to play Holland in August, a match which was postponed, and the subsequent Euro 2012 qualifiers with Bulgaria and Wales.

England squad:

Scott Carson (Bursaspor), Joe Hart (Manchester City), Robert Green (West Ham United), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Leighton Baines (Everton), Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Micah Richards (Manchester City), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur), Gareth Barry (Manchester City), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Stewart Downing (Liverpool), Adam Johnson (Manchester City), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), James Milner (Manchester City), Scott Parker (Tottenham Hotspur), Ashley Young (Manchester United), Theo Walcott (Arsenal), Darren Bent (Aston Villa), Fraizer Campbell (Sunderland), Daniel Sturridge (Chelsea), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Danny Welbeck (Manchester United).