Atletico Madrid, the 2010 Europa League winner, faces Italy's Udinese, France's Rennes and, possibly, Switzerland's FC Sion in this season's group stage.

Hours before Friday's draw, UEFA President Michel Platini said Sion appeared to field ineligible players in a playoff win against Celtic. The Scottish club could be reinstated if Sion is disqualified.

Tottenham will face Shamrock Rovers, the first Irish club to reach the group stage of a UEFA competition. Their group includes Rubin Kazan of Russia and Greece's PAOK.

Paris Saint-Germain, under big spending Qatari ownership, was drawn with Spain's Athletic Bilbao, Austria's Salzburg and Slovakia's Slovan Bratislava.

Each team's six-match program runs from Sept. 15-Dec. 15.

Draw for the group stage of the 2011-12 Europa League:

Group A Tottenham (England), Rubin Kazan (Russia), PAOK Thessaloniki (Greece), Shamrock Rovers (Ireland).

Group B FC Copenhagen (Denmark), Standard Liege (Belgium), Hannover (Germany), Vorskla Poltava (Ukraine).

Group C PSV Eindhoven (Netherlands), Hapoel Tel Aviv (Israel), Rapid Bucharest (Romania), Legia Warsaw (Poland).

Group D Sporting Lisbon (Portugal), Lazio (Italy), FC Zurich (Switzerland), Vaslui (Romania).

Group E Dynamo Kiev (Ukraine), Besiktas (Turkey), Stoke City (England), Maccabi Tel Aviv (Israel).

Group F Paris Saint-Germain (France), Athletic Bilbao (Spain), Salzburg (Austria), Slovan Bratislava (Slovakia).

Group G AZ Alkmaar (Netherlands), Metalist Kharkiv (Ukraine), Austria Vienna (Austria), Malmo (Sweden).

Group H Braga (Portugal), FC Bruges (Belgium), Birmingham City (England), Maribor (Slovenia).

Group I Atletico Madrid (Spain), Udinese (Italy), Rennes (France), FC Sion (Switzerland).

Group J Schalke (Germany), Steaua Bucharest (Romania), Maccabi Haifa (Israel), AEK Larnaca (Cyprus).

Group K Twente (Netherlands), Fulham (England), Odense (Denmark), Wisla Krakow (Poland).

Group L Anderlecht (Belgium), AEK Athens (Greece), Lokomotiv Moscow (Russia), Sturm Graz (Austria).