Pelé, Diego Maradona and Mexico's Hugo Sánchez are among the inaugural class of the international Soccer Hall of Fame in the eastern Mexican city of Pachuca, director Antonio Moreno said.

A panel of journalists from across the Americas on Tuesday selected the first 30 inductees - 15 stars of Mexican soccer and 15 international figures - into the Hall of Fame and Museum, inaugurated on July 9 by FIFA chief Joseph Blatter.

The inauguration ceremony will be held on Nov. 8 at the facility in Pachuca, Moreno said.

Brazil and Germany had the most inductees among the international group with three each, while former all-time greats from Argentina, England, Russia, Hungary, Portugal, the Netherlands and France also were selected.

In addition to Pelé, Brazil also is represented by Garrincha and Mario Zagallo, while the German inductees are Lothar Matthaus, Franz Beckenbauer and Gerd Muller.

Maradona and Alfredo Di Stefano are the two international group inductees from Argentina, while the French honorees are Michel Platini and Zinedine Zidane.

Hungary's Ferenc Puskas, Portugal's Eusebio, Dutchman Johan Cruyff, England's Bobby Charlton and Russian goalkeeper Lev Yashin completed the international list.

Besides Sánchez, the Mexican induction line-up includes Salvador Reyes, Horacio Casarin, Enrique Borja, Jorge Campos, Héctor Hernández, Antonio Carbajal and Luis de la Fuente; managers Ignacio Trelles and Raúl Cardenas; and executive Guillermo Cañedo.

The panel also recognized Brazil's Evanivaldo Castro, Argentina's Miguel Marín, Chile's Carlos Reynoso and Paraguay's José Cardozo, all of whom had successful careers in the Mexican soccer league.

Players must be retired for at least five years to be eligible for induction, although managers can be enshrined while still active.

Follow us on
Like us at