Jurgen Klinsmann has rung in the changes with his first national team selection - the 22 players chosen to play Mexico on August 10 in Philadelphia.

Those changes start at the back, where 20-year-old DC United goalkeeper Bill Hamid is in line to make his first appearance for the United States. He joins US number one Tim Howard (Everton).

The defense is notable for two surprise choices from the Mexican Primera Division: Edgar Castillo (Club America) and Michael Orozco Fiscal (San Luis). Heath Pearce's (Chivas USA) recall to the national team will also open eyes, while the selection of FC Nuernberg's Timmy Chandler will please fans who hopes the young fullback would be selected for the Gold Cup.

Those four are joined by captain Carlos Bocanegra (Saint-Etienne), Steve Cherundolo (Hannover 96), Clarence Goodson (Bronby) and Tim Ream (New York Red Bulls).

The midfield sees another recall from the Mexican league, with World Cup selection Jose Torres (Pachuca) brought back into the squad after failing not being selected for the Gold Cup. Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Ricardo Clark (Eintracht Frankfurt) and Major League Soccer Most Valuable Player candidate Brek Shea (FC Dallas) were also chosen despite missing last month's CONCACAF championship. Michael Bradley (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Maurice Edu (Rangers), and Jermaine Jones (Schalke 04) round out the midfield.

In attack, DeMarcus Beasley (Puebla) is the fourth selection from Mexico. Freddy Adu (Benfica) returns after an impressive Gold Cup, to be joined by Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy) and Donovan's former Galaxy teammate, Edson Buddle (FC Inglostadt).

Klinsmann's first selection is otherwise notable for two omissions. Stand out attacker Clint Dempsey of Fulham has not been chosen, nor has forward Jozy Altidore, who recently moved to AZ Alkmaar in the Netherlands.

Detailed Roster

Goalkeepers (2): Bill Hamid (D.C.United), Tim Howard (Everton)

Defenders (8): Carlos Bocanegra (Saint-Etienne), Edgar Castillo (Club America), Timmy Chandler (FC Nürnberg), Steve Cherundolo (Hannover 96), Clarence Goodson (Brondby), Michael Orozco Fiscal (San Luis), Heath Pearce (Chivas USA), Tim Ream (New York Red Bulls)

Midfielders (7): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Michael Bradley (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Ricardo Clark (Eintracht Frankfurt), Maurice Edu (Rangers), Jermaine Jones (Schalke 04), Brek Shea (FC Dallas), Jose Torres (Pachuca)

Forwards (5): Freddy Adu (Benfica), Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls), DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Edson Buddle (FC Ingolstadt), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy)