The Egyptian Football Association has decided no clubs will be relegated from the top division after last season was interrupted by the bloody revolution that ousted then-president Hosni Mubarak.

Egypt's FA said Wednesday that the three bottom clubs - Al Ittihad, Smouha and Al Mokawloon - will remain in the Premier League, which will also be increased from 16 to 20 teams for the 2011-12 season.

The EFA said last week that all the clubs had faced ''exceptional circumstances.''

Egypt's football leagues were suspended for nearly three months from late January as violent protests against Mubarak's regime swept through the country.

Earlier Wednesday, Mubarak went on trial for corruption and complicity in the killing of protesters.