Club America will be looking to win its first title since 2005 when the Apertura season opens Friday, having broken the Mexican domestic transfer record in the offseason by signing Christian Benitez for almost $10 million from Santos.

Benitez may give America an edge, but the Mexican first division is set to be as unpredictable as ever from the opening game between Estudiantes Tecos and Toluca onward.

Seven different teams have won championships in the past 10 seasons, but the frontrunners again should include the four tradtional powers: Cruz Azul, Pumas, Guadalajara Chivas, America - and then add in Monterrey.