Velez Sarsfield won the Argentine Clausura championship on Sunday, defeating Huracan 2-0 with closest rival Lanus losing 1-0 at home against Argentinos Juniors.

It was the eighth league title for Velez, which also won the Clausura title in 2009.

Santiago Silva and David Ramirez scored for Velez in the victory, which was played in Huracan's empty stadium - a punishment after its fans rioted in the previous match. Velez fans gathered across town in their own stadium, but were forced to wait four hours to celebrate following Lanus' loss in a late match.

Velez improved to 36 points with Lanus on 32 with one round remaining.

Argentina crowns two champions each year with its season divided into two 19-game parts. Estudiantes won the Apertura title in December.