German Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg won the Australian Grand Prix, the first race of the 2014 Formula One season, on Sunday.

Spanish Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso finished in 5th place, while four-time defending Formula One drivers' champion Sebastian Vettel, who drives for Red Bull, and British Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton had to pull out of the race.

Australian Red Bull driver David Ricciardo, who finished second, was disqualified by the FIA, the sport's governing body, for violating fuel consumption rules.

Rosberg covered the 307.574 kilometers at the Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit in 1:33:58.71.

Due to Ricciardo's disqualification, Danish McLaren driver Kevin Magnussen was promoted to 2nd place and his teammate, Britain's Jenson Button, moved up to 3rd place.

The next race of the 2014 Formula One season will be the Malaysian Grand Prix on March 30. EFE