Spain's Marc Coma won his fourth Dakar Rally title Saturday by a big margin in the motorcycle class, while countryman Joan "Nani" Roma took the championship in the car category.

Coma, who rides for KTM, took no unnecessary risks in the 13th and final stage, a 157-kilometer (98-mile) route from La Serena to Valparaiso, finishing in 18th place.

That was more than 13 minutes behind the winner of the stage, France's Cyril Despres.

Coma finished the competition with a time of 54:50:53, more than two hours ahead of countryman and teammate Jordi Viladoms, who came in sixth in the final stage to record his personal-best Dakar Rally finish.

France's Olivier Pain also grabbed a podium spot after finishing just 35 seconds ahead of teammate Despres, who was unable to defend his title and had to settle for fourth.

Spain's Joan Barreda, who rides for Honda, finished second in the final stage but came in a disappointing seventh after damaging his bike in the penultimate stage.

Barreda was the overall leader after the first four stages and had a solid lock on second place until crashing in a wave section of the route from El Salvador to La Sirena. The Spaniard was not injured.

Shortly after Coma wrapped up his title in the motorcycle class, Roma and French navigator Michel Perin came from behind to capture the title in the car category.

Roma, a Mini driver, made up the 26 seconds that separated him from France's Stephane Peterhansel, the leader after the penultimate stage, on the route from La Serena to Valparaiso.

In the final standings, the Spaniard finished with a time of 50:44:58, five minutes and 38 seconds ahead of the Frenchman.

South African Giniel De Villiers won the final car stage.

Peterhansel grabbed a slim lead heading into the final stage over Roma, who had led the competition from the end of the fifth stage to the end of the 11th.

Roma won the Dakar Rally in the motorcycle class in 2004 and came in second in the car category in 2012. 

Follow us on
Like us at