Modern Family," "Breaking Bad" and "Behind the Candelabra" were honored as Outstanding Comedy Series, Outstanding Drama Series and Outstanding Miniseries or TV Film at the 65th Primetime Emmy Awards, the Oscars of the small screen in the United States.

Actor Neil Patrick Harris hosted Sunday night's ceremony at the Nokia Theater in Los Angeles, at which the prizes were widely distributed, though not to Latino nominees Sofia Vergara and Morena Baccarin, who went home emptyhanded.

"Behind The Candelabra" was the absolute tops in the number of prizes this year, adding three to the eight technical awards at another gala the previous weekend.

David Fincher won the prize for Best Directing of a Drama Series for "House of Cards," which goes down in history as the first prize ever awarded by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences for a production aired on the Internet.

"Modern Family" and "Veep," "Breaking Bad" and "Homeland" had interesting battles to see which would be judged Outstanding Comedy Series and Outstanding Drama Series, contests that went to "Modern Family" and "Breaking Bad", respectively.

One of the gala's big surprises was the triumph of Jeff Daniels as Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama for "The Newsroom" after all bets were on Bryan Cranston to win his fourth Emmy for "Breaking Bad."

Claire Danes repeated her 2012 victory as Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series for "Homeland," while Julia Louis-Dreyfus took the Emmy equivalent in a Comedy Series for "Veep".

Laura Linney was picked as Outstanding Lead Actress in a Miniseries or TV Movie for "The Big C: Hereafter." EFE