France's Stephane Peterhansel and countryman Cyril Despres on Saturday successfully defended their Dakar Rally titles in the cars and motorcycles categories, respectively.

Peterhansel won his 11th overall Dakar title - five in the cars category dating back to 2004 and six in the motorcycles class between 1991 and 1998.

He also is the only driver to have won two cars competitions since the rally was moved from Africa to South America four years ago (2012 and 2013).

Second place on the podium in the car category went to South Africa's Giniel De Villiers.

Despres, for his part, continued his domination of the motorbike class in recent years, winning for the fifth time since 2005 and the third time in South America (2010, 2012 and 2013).

Portugal's Ruben Faria took second place.

Argentina's Marcos Patronelli, meanwhile, captured the quads title on Saturday.

The rally, which originated as a race from Paris to Dakar, capital of Senegal, was moved from Africa to South America in 2009 for security reasons.

This year's rally began in Lima on Jan. 5 and ended Saturday in Santiago. EFE