please send to Destacada


Qatari driver Nasser Al-Attiyah of the Red Bull Buggy team on Tuesday won the fourth leg of the Dakar Rally between the Peruvian cities of Nazca and Arequipa.

Next were two French drivers, Guerlain Chicherit of SMG Buggy and Stephane Peterhansel of X-raid Mini, who holds the overall lead in the race.

Spain's Joan "Nani" Roma of X-raid Mini was fifth, y minutes and 27 seconds behind Al-Attiyah, while mechanical problems prevented Spanish driver Carlos Sainz of Red Bull Buggy from completing the stage.

The Qatari secured his second consecutive stage win just 36 seconds ahead of Chicherit and 1:17 ahead of Peterhansel.

Peterhansel is the overall leader so far with a lead of more than 5 minutes over Al-Attiyah. Giniel De Villiers of Imperial Toyota is in third, followed by X-raid Mini's Leonid Novitskiy in fourth and Nani Roma in fifth.

In the fifth stage, the rally will leave Peru and move into Chile on the leg between Arequipa and Arica.

The fifth stage will comprise 509 kilometers (316 miles), including a timed segment of 172 kilometers (107 miles). EFE