Peru's government has created three new protected areas in the vast northern Amazon region of Loreto, Environment Minister Manuel Pulgar-Vidal said.

Those areas - the Güeppi-Sekime National Park, the Huimeki Communal Reserve and the Airo Pai Communal Reserve - are located in Maynas province, which borders Ecuador and Colombia.

"I think this is very good news for conservation and biodiversity. Especially since Peru recently participated in the 11th Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity and reported to the world the progress being made and what this convention's Strategic Plan for Biodiversity 2011-2020 represents," Pulgar-Vidal said.

The three protected areas will cover 592,750 hectares (1.5 million acres) and their creation will entail joint efforts with neighboring Ecuador and Colombia, the minister said.

"We hope to be able to go to that zone soon and inform the populations" who are awaiting the news, Pulgar-Vidal said. EFE