Years a Slave" and "American Hustle" each garnered nominations in seven categories for the 71st edition of the Golden Globe Awards, announced here Thursday by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association.

Vying with "12 Years a Slave" for Best Picture, Drama are "Captain Phillips," "Gravity," "Philomena" and "Rush."

The competition for Best Picture, Musical or Comedy pits "American Hustle" against "Her," "Inside Llewyn Davis," "Nebraska," and "The Wolf of Wall Street."

Mexico's Alfonso Cuaron was nominated in the best director category for "Gravity," along with Paul Greengrass, "Captain Phillips"; Steve McQueen, "12 Years a Slave"; Alexander Payne, "Nebraska"; and David O. Russell, "American Hustle."

The award for Best Actor, Drama will go to Chiwetel Ejiofor, "12 Years a Slave"; Idris Elba, "Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom"; Tom Hanks, "Captain Phillips"; Matthew McConaughey, "Dallas Buyers Club"; or Robert Redford, "All Is Lost."

Cate Blanchett, "Blue Jasmine"; Sandra Bullock, "Gravity"; Judi Dench, "Philomena"; Emma Thompson, "Saving Mr. Banks"; and Kate Winslet, "Labor Day"; are in the running for Best Actress, Drama.

Guatelama's Oscar Isaac was nominated for Best Actor, Comedy or Musical for his performance in "Inside Llewyn Davis."

His competition consists of Christian Bale, "American Hustle"; Leonardo DiCaprio, "The Wolf of Wall Street"; Bruce Dern, "Nebraska"; and Joaquin Phoenix, "Her."

Amy Adams, "American Hustle"; Julie Delpy, "Before Midnight"; Greta Gerwig, "Frances Ha"; Julia Louis-Dreyfus, "Enough Said"; and Meryl Streep, "August: Osage County" will vie for the honors as Best Actress, Musical or Comedy.

The contest for Best Supporting Actor features Spaniard Daniel Brühl, "Rush"; Barkhad Abdi, "Captain Phillips"; Bradley Cooper "American Hustle"; Michael Fassbender, "12 Years a Slave"; and Jared Leto, "Dallas Buyers Club."

The nominees for Best Supporting Actress are: Sally Hawkins, "Blue Jasmine"; Jennifer Lawrence, "American Hustle"; Lupita Nyong'o, "12 Years a Slave"; Julia Roberts, "August: Osage County"; and June Squibb, "Nebraska." EFE