The 39th American Music Awards will feature among its leading figures Sunday such Latino artists as Jennifer Lopez, Marc Anthony, Pitbull, Enrique Iglesias and Christina Aguilera in a ceremony where the singer Adele is the big favorite.

The British singer of "Rolling in the Deep" has been nominated for four of these prizes including Artist of the Year, a category where she will compete with Lady Gaga, Lil Wayne, Katy Perry and Taylor Swift, all with a chance to take three prizes, as do Rihanna and The Band Perry.

The gala to be held Sunday at the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles at 5:00 p.m. (0100 GMT Monday) - though the broadcast on ABC will be delayed for the West Coast - will feature a previous event starting an hour earlier and celebrity arrivals on the red carpet that can be followed live on the Internet.

The rapper of Cuban descent Pitbull is the Latino with the most chances at the AMAs this year with two nominations, one as Favorite Male Artist in Pop or Rock Music, where he will compete against Justin Bieber and Bruno Mars, and another as Favorite Artist in Latin Music, where he is up against Enrique Iglesias and Jennifer Lopez.

Also with two nominations are Beyonce, Bruno Mars, Chris Brown, Jason Aldean, Kanye West, LMFAO and Nicki Minaj, while Angeleno artist Miguel of Mexican origin is a candidate for New Artist of the Year in Soul/R&B.

Pitbull will also take the stage to provide some musical backing for the awards in a performance accompanied by Marc Anthony and Lil Jon.

That will be just one of the segments in the ceremony in which U.S. music stars combine their talents.

Maroon 5 will interpret their number "Moves Like Jagger" together with Christina Aguilera, while Enrique Iglesias will do a duo with Ludacris, Jennifer Lopez will harmonize with of The Black Eyed Peas, and Nicki Minaj will do the same with David Guetta.

The list of singers who will put music in the music awards also includes Taylor Swift, Justin Bieber, Katy Perry, Drake, Chris Brown, Mary J. Blige, Kelly Clarkson, Daughtry, The Band Perry, OneRepublic and Gym Class Heroes.

The American Music Awards were created in 1973 by producer Dick Clark to honor the most popular artists then on the U.S. musical scene, and for the last five years the prizewinners have been chosen by popular vote over the Internet, though the nominees are originally picked according to their sales success and their popularity on the Web.

Twenty-one prizes will be handed out at the 39th American Music Awards in the categories of Pop/Rock, Country, Rap/Hip-Hop, Soul/R&B, Alternative Rock Music, Adult Contemporary Music, Latin Music and Contemporary Inspirational, New Artist of the Year, and most important of all, Artist of the Year.

Among the hosts of the ceremony will be Selena Gomez, Alanis Morissette, Benjamin Bratt, Heidi Klum, Jennifer Hudson, Joe Jonas, Lionel Richie, Queen Latifah, Taio Cruz, Taylor Swift and Vanessa Marano.